Home > Buddhist and Meditation Books > Chögyam Trungpa >

The Profound Treasury of the Ocean of Dharma Volume I
The Path of Individual Liberation
By Chogyam Trungpa
Now in paperback

Profound Treasury of the Ocean of Dharma Volume 1

The Profound Treasury of the Ocean of Dharma represents meditation master Chögyam Trungpa’s greatest contribution to Western Buddhism. This three-volume collection presents in lively, relevant language the comprehensive teachings of the Tibetan Buddhist path of the hinayana, mahayana, and vajrayana. This work will resonate with new students of Buddhism as well as the most senior students.

The first volume, The Path of Individual Liberation, presents the teachings of the hinayana. The hinayana introduces core Buddhist teachings on the nature of mind, the practice of meditation, the reality of suffering, and the possibility of liberation. It examines the nature of suffering, impermanence, and egolessness, with an emphasis on personal development through meditative discipline and study. The formal entry into the hinayana and the Buddhist path altogether is the refuge vow, in which a student goes for refuge to the Buddha, or the teacher; the dharma, or the teachings; and the sangha, or the community. The hinayana path is based on training in mindfulness and awareness, cultivating virtue, and cutting grasping. Topics covered in detail in this volume include the four noble truths, karma, the four foundations of mindfulness, meditation practice, the refuge vows, the three jewels, the five skandhas, the five precepts, twofold egolessness, and more.

627 pages. Paperback.

LIST PRICE: $39.95
Our Price: $33.95
(You save $6.00)

Stock Status:In Stock

Product Code: S-6665


Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review